First CAREC Customs Cooperation Committee Meeting

The first Customs Cooperation Committee (CCC) meeting discussed and created an agreement on a common action plan and institutional arrangements for the implementation of customs reforms.

The CCC is composed of the heads of customs organizations of the Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program. Delegates came from Azerbaijan, PRC, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan as well as Turkmenistan. The first CCC meeting was attended by all the participating countries and representatives of ADB and the World Customs Organization (WCO).


The objectives of the meeting were to

  • agree on the broad objectives and scope of the action plans initiated at the Regional Customs Cooperation Meeting in Manila in January 2002;
  • discuss and endorse the objectives, scope and terms of reference under the proposed regional technical assistance grant on Trade Facilitation and Governance, which is being processed as part of a Regional Customs Cooperation Program supported by ADB;
  • formulate a training and capacity building program, and a schedule of activities aimed at enhancing customs cooperation over the period, 2002-2004; and
  • establish a mechanism within the framework of CCC to implement the regional customs cooperation initiatives.

Target Participants

  • Head of customs agency from each of the governments of Azerbaijan, the PRC, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan
  • Senior officials of ADB

Event Materials